Whistleblower Law Blog

Two Senators Launch Bipartisan Whistleblower Protection Caucus

In February 2015, Senators Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa) and Ron Wyden (D-Oregon) announced the Whistleblower Protection Caucus, signaling that whistleblower protection is a topic on which politicians on both sides of the aisle can agree. Grassley, a long-time advocate for whistleblower rights, initially announced plans to form the Caucus in April 2014.

The purpose of the Caucus is to bring together like-minded Senators who can shed light on the need for ongoing whistleblower protections. The Caucus will focus on enforcement of whistleblower protections and creating a culture that understands and respects the right to blow the whistle on wrongdoing.

Other members of the Caucus include Senators Ron Johnson (R-Wisconsin), Mark Kirk (R-Illinois), Deb Fischer (R-Nebraska), Thom Tillis (R-North Carolina), Barbara Boxer (D-California), Claire McCaskill (D-Missouri), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wisconsin), and Ed Markey (D-Massachusetts). Whistleblower protection is one of the few issues that can garner bipartisan support.


decorative line